About Slovakia

The Slovak Republic is a landlocked state located in Central Europe. It has an area of 49 035 km² and a population of 5.43 million. Slovakia borders with the Czech Republic, Austria, Poland, Ukraine and Hungary. The first political unit formed by Slavic peoples in the region of present-day Slovakia was Samo’s Empire (7th century) and later the Principality of Nitra (early 9th century), which eventually joined with the Moravian Principality to form Great Moravia in 833. Between the second half of the 10th century and the end of the 11th century, Slovak territory was gradually incorporated into the Austrian Empire (Austrio-Hungarian Empire since 1867). After the dissolution of the Austrio-Hungarian Empire in 1918, Slovakia became a part of Czechoslovakia until 1993 (except for the period of the separate First Slovak Republic). The Slovak Republic became an independent state after the dissolution of Czechoslovakia on 1 January 1993.

The capital of Slovakia is Bratislava. It spreads across the banks of the river Danube, the second largest river in Europe, and upon the foot of the Carpathian Mountain range. The city neighbors Hungary to the south and Austria to the southwest. Bratislava is one of the youngest capital cities of Europe, yet it is a city rich in history. Its location in the heart of Europe on the banks of the Danube has predestined this city to become an important crossroads of trade routes and meeting place of many cultures. Throughout its long history, Bratislava has seen prosperous times, as well as times of decline. The period of Maria Theresa’s reign is considered to have been the golden age. This sovereign was crowned Queen of Austrian Empire in St. Martin’s Cathedral located in this very city. Today, Bratislava is a dynamically developing metropolitan center filled with young people, who give it a pleasant and unique atmosphere. Europe offers a variety of beautiful cities, but only few of them radiate such a special atmosphere. You will definitely remember Bratislava.